Arizona Security Guard Licensing Requirements

Arizona Revised Statutes (ARS) governing Security Guard Licenses

Security Guards: Title 32, Chapter 26
http://www.azleg.state.az.us/ArizonaRevisedStatutes.asp?Title=32

Who must be licensed

You must be licensed if…

…You work for a security guard agency that pays you to provide security guard services to other companies.

  • Until you are licensed by Department of Public Safety [DPS], you cannot wear a uniform and/or stand post as a Security Guard.
  • Licenses from other states are not recognized in Arizona.
  • Unless you fall under one of the Exceptions in ARS 32-2606, providing security guard services without a license is a class 1 misdemeanor. Additionally, a violation of these regulations can prevent you from obtaining a license in the future.

You do not need a license if…

…You work for a proprietary company as explained in Exceptions. A proprietary company pays you to be their security guard.

Note to Peace Officers: Peace officers operating a security agency (business) must be licensed per the requirements of this website. This means the submission of an application, fees, a workman’s compensation policy, liability insurance, a list of employees and a recent letter from the agency head (or designee) that the officers may wear department uniforms and drive department vehicles. If your agency will not permit the use of agency uniforms and vehicles, you must follow the instructions below pertaining to security uniforms and vehicles. Recent inquiries of various risk management and human resources entities has shown that they WILL NOT cover officers working in this capacity, the only exception is typically if the job was coordinated through an authorized agency off duty work coordinator – check with your department for further information as the policy may vary between agencies. If your agency will cover you in this security capacity, submit a written statement from BOTH your HR and Risk Management directors, in addition to all the other required application paperwork. Consult with your agency head and HR department before creating a security business due to conflicts related to peace officer status and liability while working for a security company.

Unarmed Security Guard

  • The Unarmed Security Guard license allows you to work for any DPS-licensed security guard agency in the state.
  • The card belongs to you.
  • Expiration will be two years from the date DPS processed the application.

New hire, or more than 90 days expired

Steps

  1. Be offered employment by a DPS-licensed Security Guard agency. The agency fills out Employer section of the Registration Application and an authorized person signs it.
  2. Complete and sign the Employee section.
  3. Submit fingerprints.
  4. Submit a color photograph of your face.
  5. Complete the 8-hour pre-assignment training course.
  6. Submit the training verification, signed and dated by the agency.
  7. Submit $74 cash, money order, company or cashier’s check payable to DPS. This covers the $50 license fee and the $24 fingerprint processing fee. The Licensing Unit does not accept personal checks, credit or debit cards.

Renewal

  • Less than 60 days before the expiration date
  • Less than 90 days past the expiration date (add $10 late fee)

Steps

  1. Complete and sign the Employee section of the Registration Application.
  2. Submit fingerprints.
  3. Submit a color photograph of your face. (If appearance has changed)
  4. Complete the 8-hour pre-assignment training course.
  5. Submit the training verification, signed and dated by the instructor.
  6. Submit $74 cash, money order, company or cashier’s check payable to DPS. This covers the $50 license fee and the $24 fingerprint processing fee. The Licensing Unit does not accept personal checks, credit or debit cards.

Armed Security Guard

New hire, or more than 90 days expired

  • Expiration date will be two years from when DPS processed the application.
  • An Unarmed Security Guard license will also be issued.

Steps

  1. Be offered employment by a DPS-licensed Armed Security Guard agency. The agency fills out Employer section of the Registration Application and an authorized person signs it.
  2. Complete and sign the Employee section.
  3. Submit fingerprints.
  4. Submit a color photograph of your face.
  5. Complete the 8-hour pre-assignment security guard training course.
  6. Submit the training verification, signed and dated by the agency.
  7. Complete 16 hours of pre-assignment firearm training from a certified firearms instructor.
  8. Submit the Armed Security Guard training form, signed and dated by the instructor and the agency.
  9. Submit $124 cash, money order, company or cashier’s check payable to DPS. This covers the $100 license fee and the $24 fingerprint processing fee. The Licensing Unit does not accept personal checks, credit or debit cards.

“Upgrade” from an Unarmed Security Guard license

  • Expiration date will be the same as your current Unarmed Security Guard license.
  • Each Armed Security Guard license permits you to work only for the agency that sponsored your armed application. This agency name will appear on the face of your Armed Security Guard card.

If your Unarmed Security Guard license is not expired AND submission of fingerprint card was LESS than 90 days ago …

Steps

  1. Be offered employment by a DPS-licensed Security Guard Armed agency. The agency fills out Employer section of the Registration Application and an authorized person signs it.
  2. Complete and sign the Employee section.
  3. Submit a color photograph of your face. (If appearance has changed)
  4. Complete the 16-hour firearm training course from a certified instructor.
  5. Submit the Armed Security Guard training form, signed and dated by the instructor and the agency.
  6. Submit $50 cash, money order, company or cashier’s check payable to DPS. The Licensing Unit does not accept personal checks, credit or debit cards.

If your Unarmed Security Guard license is not expired AND submission of fingerprint card was MORE than 90 days ago …

Steps

  1. Be offered employment by a DPS-licensed Security Guard Armed agency. The agency fills out Employer section of the Registration Application and an authorized person signs it.
  2. Complete and sign the Employee section.
  3. Submit Fingerprints.
  4. Submit a color photograph of your face. (If appearance has changed)
  5. Complete the 16-hour firearm training course from a certified instructor.
  6. Submit the Armed Security Guard training form, signed and dated by the instructor and the agency.
  7. Submit $74 cash, money order, company or cashier’s check payable to DPS. The Licensing Unit does not accept personal checks, credit or debit cards.

Renewal

  • Less than 60 days before the expiration date
  • Less than 90 days past the expiration date (add $10 late fee)

Steps

  1. Complete and sign the Employee section of the Registration Application.
  2. Submit Fingerprints.
  3. Submit a color photograph of your face. (If appearance has changed)
  4. Complete the 8-hour refresher security guard training course.
  5. Submit the refresher training verification, signed and dated by the instructor.
  6. Complete the 8-hour firearm training course from a certified instructor.
  7. Submit the Armed Security Guard training form, signed and dated by the instructor and the agency.
  8. Submit $124 cash, money order, company or cashier’s check payable to DPS. The Licensing Unit does not accept personal checks, credit or debit cards.

Additional Armed Security Guard licenses

A separate Armed license is required for each job

You may work as an Armed Security Guard for as many agencies as you wish. An additional Armed Security Guard license, however, must be issued for each agency.

  • Expiration date will be the same as your Unarmed license
  • Each Armed Security Guard card belongs to you. If your job with an agency ends, you may keep the card to show to a future employer
  • This License cannot be issued while you wait at the window
  • Fingerprint card is not required

Steps

  1. Be offered employment by a DPS-licensed Armed Security Guard agency. The agency fills out Employer section of the Registration Application and an authorized person signs it.
  2. Complete and sign the Employee section.
  3. Submit a color photograph of your face. (If appearance has changed)
  4. Submit $10 cash, money order, company or cashier’s check payable to DPS. The Licensing Unit does not accept personal checks, credit or debit cards.
  5. Submit proof of identification, such as a Drivers License.

Firearms training requirements

A new Armed Security Guard must have 16 hours of documented training from a DPS-Certified Firearms Instructor. An Armed agency will advise who should train you.

If your Armed Security Guard license is more than 90 days past the expiration date, you are considered “New” and must have 16 hours of documented training from a DPS-Certified Firearms Instructor.

Every calendar year after the issuance of the Armed Security Guard license you must have 8 hours of refresher training from a DPS-Certified firearms instructor. The signed Armed Training form must be provided to DPS. This must be received at DPS no later than January 5 of the following year.

If Armed Security Guard firearms refresher training is not received by DPS for each calendar year, your Armed Security Guard license(s) will be suspended.

*New* Security Guard Firearms Instructor Applications and Renewals

Links to Revised Lesson Plans for Security Guard Training

Concealed Weapons Permit training

Concealed Weapons Permit training cannot be substituted for Armed Security Guard firearms training. Although firearms instructors are often certified by both Licensing and CWPU, the actual training is different. A DPS Licensing-Certified Security Guard firearms instructor must train you. No other firearm training is authorized.

A Concealed Weapon Permit does not authorize you to work as an Armed Security Guard.

Write a Comment

*