The state of Alaska requires a state license for any person applying for a job as a security guard. These requirements are:
1. Applicants must be at least 18 years of age.
2. Must be a U.S. citizen or resident alien.
3. Not be addicted or dependent on drugs or alcohol.
4. Not have any felony convictions or have been involved in any crime preventing ownership or possession of a firearm.
5. Applicants must have a minimum of 8-hours general pre-assignment training, which includes among other topics Law of arrest ; Law of search and seizure ; Duties and responsibilities to the employer and client ; Fire Prevention and Patrol techniques. After you complete your training course, you then can fill out an application to become a security officer. Applications are available online at the Public & Safety Statewide Services Permits and Licensing Unit website.
6. All guards must complete 40 hours in-service training within 180 days of employment.
7. Applicants for an armed guard license must have a firearms training certificate and 8-hours of pre-assignment training in the legal use, handling, safety, and maintenance of deadly weapons. They are required to have a higher amount of training than the unarmed security guard, since they will be armed with a weapon. Applicants must also show that they have the capability and the competence required to use any firearms that may be issued to them.
8. Armed guards must re-qualify with a gun annually to maintain an armed license.
9. Applicants with convictions that prevent them from owning or handling a gun will be hired as an unarmed security guard only.
The fee for an individual applying for a security guard license is $50, and the fee for a security guard agency is $200. Once issued, a security guard license is valid for 24 months.
Fingerprint fee is $54.25. Biennial renewal $50.
Licensing of security guards is the responsibility of the Alaska Commissioner for Public Safety.