Security Guard Training – Maine

In Maine, a security guard who will perform security guard functions within the State, does not have to be certified provided that he or she is hired by an authorized security company. So to put it differently, the certification prerequisites fall on the security company or proprietary security organization utilizing the employee, rather than the employee of that company or organization. Nevertheless, the employer may demand that certain criteria be met.

No individual may be employed as a security guard in the State of Maine by a security company unless the individual meets the following minimum requirements:

  • Is at least 18 years of age or older
  • Is a citizen or legal resident alien of the United States
  • Has not been convicted of a crime punishable by one year or more of imprisonment or, within the past 5 years
  • Has not been dishonorably discharged from the military in the last 5 years
  • Is not a drug abuser or drug-dependent person
  • The applicant shall be asked to submit to a criminal background check to ensure that he or she meets all of the requirements to be a security guard
  • Applicant must have good moral character

Applicant must also submit an application in order to receive his or hers security guard license which contains the following:

  • Full name
  • Full current address and addresses for the prior 5 years
  • The date and place of birth, height, weight and color of eyes

Training Curriculum

The level of instruction security guards receive varies. But if a training course is provided or required, a basic training conducted may include the following subjects:

  • Patrol and Observation
  • Responsibilities and ethics in citizen arrest
  • Incident response, including response to medical emergencies
  • Restrictions on searches and seizures
  • Trespass law

For more information on Security Guard Licenses, you may visit mainelegislature.org or consult the Private Investigator Guard Handbook on the License and Permits page on the Main State Police website.

You can also visit:

State Police Licensing Division

State House Sta #164

Augusta, ME 04333

or call Maine State Police Licensing Division at 207-624-8775.

Write a Comment

*