Florida Class ‘D’ And Class ‘G’ Security Guard License

To become an unarmed security guard in the State of Florida you are required to go through a total of 40-hours of training to obtain what is known as a basic SG Class “D” license. However, the law permits this training, which is licensed by the Florida Department of Agriculture and Consumer Services, to be divided into 24-hours of initial training and 16-hours of follow-up instruction.

Note: Applicant my complete the remaining 16 hours within 180 days of completing the 24-hour class. The 16 hours can in most cases be completed in 2 days.

Before you can apply for a Class “D” license, you are required to:

  1. Be at least 18 years old.
  2. Be a citizen or legal resident alien of the U.S.
  3. Applicant must provide a current residence address (P.O. Box addresses are not acceptable).
  4. Pass a criminal history background check.
  5. Complete the required security guard training.

Upon passing of the final exam, applicants will be given proof of training completion to provide to the State when they apply for their Class ā€œDā€ License, which may be acquired by one of the following methods:

  • Successful completion of 40 hours of training before you submit your initial application, or
  • Successful completion of 24 hours of training before you submit your initial application and successful completion of 16 hours of training within 6 months of the date your application was submitted to the Division of Licensing.

A set of fingerprint cards, which can be obtained at your training school or local police station, proof of training, as well as a color photograph of yourself should also be submitted with the application.

There is a $45 licensing fee and a $42 fingerprint card processing fee. Make them payable to the Florida Department of Agriculture and Consumer Services. Fees are non-refundable. Upon successful completion and submission of your application, you may begin work as an unarmed security officer.

To obtain a Class “G” license and work as an Armed Security Officer in the state of Florida potential applicants must complete the Florida Statewide Firearms Course.

Before you can apply for a Class “G” license, you must:

  1. Be at least 21 years old.
  2. You must have already obtained your Class “D” license.
  3. Pass a psychological and physical exam.
  4. Complete the required 28-hour Florida Statewide Firearms Course which includes all Firearm License Requirements and Security Guard Course curriculum mandated by the State of Florida Division of Licensing.

Applicants that successfully pass the final exam and range qualification will be given a certificate of completion to provide to the State when they apply for the Class “G” Statewide Firearms license. Applicants will also receive a certificate of completion for the concealed carry or CCW (carrying a concealed weapon) permit. State regulations relating to the issuance of CCW permits generally fall into four categories described as Unrestricted, Shall Issue, May issue and No Issue.

Under Florida Laws any Security Officer Armed that is issued a “FL-Class ‘G’ License” can only carry a .380 or 9mm Semi-Automatic Pistol, .38 or .357 Caliber Revolver while working in an Armed Capacity.

Comments

  1. Kevin Johnson says:

    I have been a correctional officer for 2.5 years would like to get my D and G licenses

  2. Olamide says:

    I just finished my Class D and G license class, I would like to know if i can use my work permit card as a proof of legal resident alien as i am yet to receive the green card which is under process at the USCIS.

Write a Comment

*